The Cerebellum: Is it Just for Motor Control?

 

AS.080.370: Fall 2017

 

This website will be used to post lecture notes and papers for discussion.

 

Messages:

 

Update: 11/17/2017 6:52 AM

 

Paper for Nov 28 discussion (Nicolson) has been posted.

Note: There are study questions for this paper to guide discussion.

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

 

Instructor: Dr. John E. Desmond

 

Course syllabus is here.

 

Additional information on grading is here.

 

Tue Sep 5: Course Introduction: Intro Slides. Lecture 01. Cerebellar

Anatomy, Theory. Lecture notes; For Lectures 1 and 2 with one slide per page, click here.

 

Thur Sep 7: Class cancellation.

 

Tue Sep 12: Lecture 02. Anatomy, theory (cont).

 

Thur Sep 14: Finish Anatomy, theory and begin Lecture 03. TMS methods. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Sep 19: Finish Lecture 3, and Ramnani paper discussion. Paper

 

Thur Sep 21: Guest Lecture 04. Dr. Gabriela Cantarero. Lecture notes.

 

Tue Sep 26: Guest lecture 05 Dr. Adrian Haith. Lecture notes.

 

Thur Sep 28: Lecture 06 fMRI. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Oct 3: Blakemore paper discussion: Paper.

 

Thur Oct 5: Lecture 07. Sensory Acquisition. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Oct 10: Parsons paper discussion. Paper

 

Thur Oct 12: Pre-midterm review. Slides.

 

Tue Oct 17: MIDTERM EXAM. (1) Notes and performance; (2) Answer key

 

Thur Oct 19: Class demo

 

Tue Oct 24: Lecture 08. Classical Conditioning. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Example of class presentation (for Nov 14, 16) available here.

 

Thur Oct 26: Lecture 09. Timing. Slides. For one slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Oct 31: Papka paper discussion: Paper

 

Thur Nov 2: Lecture 10. Verbal Working Memory. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Nov 7: Cooper paper discussion: Paper

 

Thu Nov 9: Lecture 11. Language. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Nov 14: Student presentations

 

Thu Nov 16: Student presentations

 

Tue Nov 21 No Class (Thanksgiving holiday)

 

Thu Nov 23 No Class (Thanksgiving holiday)

 

Tue Nov 28: Nicolson paper discussion. (1) Paper; (2) Study questions

 

Tue Sep 20: Miall paper discussion. (1) Paper; (2) Study questions; (3) Supplementary slides

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thu Dec 1: Lecture 12. Executive Function. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Dec 6: Guest Lecture: The Cerebellum and Clinical Disorders: Dr. Cherie Marvel. Notes (Updated!).

 

Thu Dec 8: Review for final exam: Slides

 

(Reading Period Dec 10 Dec 12)

 

Tue Dec 20: Final Exam (non-cumulative) 10:00-noon in our regular classroom. (1) Answer key; (2) Notes and performance