The Cerebellum: Is it Just for Motor Control?

 

AS.080.370: Fall 2019

 

This website will be used to post lecture notes and papers for discussion.

 

Messages:

 

Update: 12/4/2019 3:32 PM

 

The pre-final review slides have been updated to include Dr. Marvel's lecture

 

 

Instructor: Dr. John E. Desmond

 

Course syllabus is here.

 

Additional information on grading is here.

 

Tue Sep 3: Course Introduction: Intro Slides. (for 1slide per page

click here). Lecture 01-02. Cerebellar Anatomy, Theory. Lecture notes (revised 9/9/19); for Lectures 1 and 2 with one slide per page, click here (revised 9/9/19).

 

Thur Sep 5: Lecture 02, Anatomy, Theory, continued.

 

Tue Sep 10: Finish Lecture 2, and Ramnani paper discussion. Paper

 

Thur Sep 12: Lecture 03. TMS methods. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Sep 17: Miall paper discussion. (1) Paper; (2) Study questions; (3) Supplementary slides

 

Thur Sep 19: Guest Lecture 04. Dr. Gabriela Cantarero. Lecture notes.

 

Tue Sep 24: Guest lecture 05 Dr. Adrian Haith. Lecture notes.

 

Thur Sep 26: Lecture 06 fMRI. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Oct 1: Blakemore paper discussion: Paper.

 

Thur Oct 3: Lecture 07. Sensory Acquisition. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Oct 8: Parsons paper discussion. Paper

 

Thur Oct 10: Pre-midterm review. Slides.  For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Oct 15: MIDTERM EXAM. (1) Notes and performance; (2) Answer key

 

Example of class presentation (for Oct 22, Oct 31, Nov 5 presentations) is available here.

 

Thur Oct 17: Lecture 08. Classical Conditioning. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Oct 22: Student Presentations Part 1

 

Thur Oct 24: Lecture 09. Timing. Slides. For one slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Oct 29: Papka paper discussion: Paper

 

Thur Oct 31: Student Presentations Part 2

 

Tue Nov 5: Student presentations Part 3

 

Thur Nov 7: Lecture 10. Verbal Working Memory. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Nov 12: Cooper paper discussion: Paper

 

Thur Nov 14: Lecture 11. Language. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Nov 19: Nicolson paper discussion. (1) Paper; (2) Study questions

 

Thur Nov 21: Lecture 12. Executive Function. Lecture notes. For 1 slide per page format click here.

 

Tue Nov 26: No Class (Thanksgiving holiday)

 

Thu Nov 28: No Class (Thanksgiving holiday)

 

Tue Dec 3: Guest Lecture: The Cerebellum in Clinical Disorders: Dr. Cherie Marvel. Notes.

 

Thu Dec 5: Review for final exam: Slides. For 1 slide per page click here. Updated 12/4

 

(Reading Period Dec 7-Dec 10)

 

Thur Dec 12: Final Exam (non-cumulative) 6-8 PM in Ames 234. (1) Answer key; (2) Notes and performance